Oh Maya…Get On Out The Way!

So the great Maya Angelou appears to be a bit upset with rapper Common. After she recited a poem on Common’s new track ‘The Dreamer’ she became displeased with the constant use of the word ‘nigga.’ Ms. Angelou tells the New York Post

I had no idea that Common was using the piece we had done together on [a track] in which he also used the ‘N’ word numerous times. I’m surprised and disappointed. I don’t know why he chose to do that. I had never heard him use that [word] before. I admired him so because he wasn’t singing the line of least resistance.

Common responds by saying:

I told her what ‘The Dreamer’ was about and what I wanted to get across to people. I wanted young people to hear this and feel like they could really accomplish their dreams.

Even though he didn’t address her main reasoning of disliking the track, I’m on his side. Ms. Angelou was previously informed of what the song was about, and at the end of the day, she knows she didn’t sign up to work with a Christian rapper! I say this with up most respect, but get on out the way Ms. Angelou!

Take a listen to the song and let me know what you think. Did Common over do it with the N-word?

One thought on “Oh Maya…Get On Out The Way!

  1. I have to disagree – anyone who knows Mya Angelou knows she would not knowingly support a song that uses that word regardless of you explaining the songs message to her. Out of respect for our elders (which most young people don’t seem to have) he should have disclosed this to her, left the word out, or not used her on the song. Where does it say you have to be a christian to not use the word? Not every black person uses it and its not a word necessary to get one’s point across. The fact that he didn’t even address her main gripe says something…

Leave a Reply

